Vision Impaired Voters


If you are a vision impaired voter who wishes to vote in secret at the Presidential election, ask the Presiding Officer at your polling station to attach the appropriate ballot paper template to your ballot paper.

Raised numbering and braille on the template will guide you to the relevant openings that correspond to the candidates on the ballot paper.

You can familiarise yourself with the candidates on the ballot paper by contacting a ‘freephone’ number 1800 26 10 18 as often as you wish up to and including polling day. You can also use your mobile phone in the polling centre on polling day to access this information.

Vision impaired voters who would prefer to vote with the aid of a companion or the Presiding Officer at the polling station can continue to do so.

The candidate details may be found here in the Notice of Poll and are also set out below. The order of candidates on the ballot paper is the same as the order in the Notice of Poll.

PETER JOSEPH CASEY, of Edgewater House, Carrowhugh, Greencastle,
Co. Donegal, F93 A2P3,

GAVIN DUFFY, of Kilsharvan, Bellewstown, Co. Meath,
Training and Development Advisor.

JOAN FREEMAN, of 37 Weston Drive, Weston Park, Lucan, Co. Dublin,

SEÁN GALLAGHER, of Eden Gate, Delgany, Greystones, Co. Wicklow,
Entrepreneur, Disability Advocate, Former Youth Worker.

MICHAEL D. HIGGINS, of Áras an Uachtaráin, Baile Átha Cliath 8,
President of Ireland.

LIADH NÍ RIADA, of Baile Mhic Ire, Maighchromtha, Co. Chorcaí,